Color Corps

Since the establishment of the Patriotic Degree in 1900, the Color Corps have provided honor guards for religious and civic functions, an activity that has brought worldwide recognition to the Knights of Columbus. They are distinguishable by their official regalia including swords.

The Color Corps of the Knights of Columbus are the uniformed members of the Fourth Degree. They are the ones that are most noticeable at church and public functions, parades, etc.

Colors are an indication of rank.

  • Vice Supreme Masters wear blue.
  • Masters wear gold.
  • District Marshals (District level Color Corps Commanders) wear green.
  • Faithful Navigators (whether a member of the corps or not) wear white.
  • Commanders wear purple.
  • Other Color Corps members wear red.

Within the districts, the Master more or less sets the rules. In the Assembly, the highest ranking Color Corps member is called Commander. Former vice Supreme Masters, Former District Marshalls, and Past Faithful Navigators are all permitted to wear their color when they finish their term of office.